Memory boxes

Snapchat-20140823073709.

For quite a few years now, my mom kept these memory boxes for my sister and me. Birthday cards and little things that we probably would’ve thrown away, are now carefully (or rather untidy but who cares) stored in boxes and put away underneath our beds.

So yesterday as a study break, I decided to take a look inside my memory boxes. Oh the memories that came back… It might sound stupid or cheesy, but every single time I look in them, I’m touched once again by all the memories, floating back into my brain. It goes from pictures of my class in first grade, to love letters from former boyfriends when I was fourteen or fifteen years old, to pictures from summercamps I did more than 5 years ago.

I think it is strange how things that happened in the past, can have this huge influence on our actions and the decisions we make today. When you think of it, it’s funny because most of these thoughts happen in your subconscious. If clowns scared the hell out of you when you were a kid, you probably won’t be hasty with taking your own kids to the circus. It’s like former experiences guide us through live, without us even knowing. It’s kind of obvious, but when you look further, you’ll see these phenomenon also in your all day thingies. Maybe your mum bought you a hideous green sweater once but you had to wear it, so now you don’t like the color green that much.

“What I like about photographs is that they capture a moment that’s gone forever, impossible to reproduce.”, said by Karl Lagerfeld.

Enjoy life people, make memories and make sure you’ll look back at them with a smile on your face.

Love, Beth.

 

Leave a comment