Confessions of a 19-year old

I’m walking through the city, just doing some daydreaming and thinking about the amazing holidays that lay ahead of me, when all of the sudden, I see them. 

Oh aren’t they just lovely, they’re screaming my name, I hear them whispering inside my head ‘come and look at us, see our beauty, our elegance. Wouldn’t we look marvellous with that new dress you just bought?’. Yes my dears, I’m talking about shoes. But oh, which woman can resist them? Okay I admit, I’m worse than most women, but I can’t help it and I did try, I really did. But they’re just the perfect cure for sadness or the perfect reward when you did something you can be very proud of. And yes, they even smell good when you just bought them.

Since we’re talking about confessions here, I shall confess. I’m a nineteen year old girl and I have inbetween 40 and 45 pairs of shoes in my closet. It’s driving my boyfriend crazy, but yeah, who blames him? ‘But those 40 pair are for winter and summer!’ I tell him, but then again, that’s only something I say to myself to make me feel better.

Okay, I have a bad habit, which I’m not that proud of, but I’m not ashamed of it either, because who hasn’t some secret addictions? Of course, that’s not the only thing I can’t live without, I have quite a few addictions actually.

For example, my piano. I’ve been going to piano lessons every week since I was 8. This year I stopped, I’ve got my diploma and just haven’t had the time anymore since I’m going to college. But I still play it often and now I can choose my own music, I really do love it. One of my favourites that I learned myself this year is ‘River flows in you’ from Yiruma (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsTjI75uEUQ), it really is so beautiful.

The fun part about playing the piano is that you can translate all your emotions – happy ones, but also the sad and angry ones – in your playing. Now I’m also busy with learning to play more modern pieces, like the piano version of Bastille’s ‘Bad Blood’ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7MzFzsoziE).Image

 

One of my favourite breaks when I’m studying, is going for a run or going to the gym. I’ve been sporting my whole life, I’m mad at my lazy self when I have done nothing for a whole week. But sometimes, especially now during the exams, there just isn’t the time or the weather is too hot for jogging. 

Actually, I have started to go to the gym recently, because I’ve been playing hockey since I was little. Unfortunately, I also had to stop playing when I went to college, but oh how I miss it.. In a few years I will start playing again, I realized I just can’t live without it. Image

Yes, the one with the blue-orange hockeystick is me.

I must seem quite the sporter now, but don’t drag it too far there. I love sport and I can’t live without, but I can enjoy being lazy and eating chocolate while watching one of my favourite series just as well!

Image

(Omg, chocolate + Oreo cookies, a combination made in heaven).

So my dear sleepyheads, I’ve told you mine, now tell me yours! Don’t be ashamed of yourself, just be proud of your sweet can’t-live-without’s, I’m curious already!

Love, Beth

Leave a Reply

